Denna sida på svenska This page in English

Joachim Schnadt

Topical reading

Below you find an entirely subjective selection of papers that discuss questions of relevance to my research or that I simply found worthwhile reading. The list is mostly thought as a reading list for my PhD students.


Electron spectroscopy

General texts on x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS and XAS)

G. Hähner, Chem. Soc. Rev. 35 (2006) 1244

A. R. Head and J. Schnadt, JOM 68 (2016) 3070

Intensities in XPS, including vibrational progressions, photoionisation cross sections, photoelectron diffraction and EXAFS oscillations

J. J. Yeh and I. Lindau, Atom. Data Nucl. Data 32 (1985) 1

J. W. Cooper, Phys. Rev. 128 (1962) 681

A. Föhlisch et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 81 (1998) 1730

M. Wiklund et al., Surf. Sci. 461 (2000) 107

J. Söderström et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 108 (2012) 193005

Lineshapes in XPS

S. Doniach and M. Šunjić, J. Phys. C 3 (1970) 285

G. Wertheim and S. Hüfner, Phys. Rev. Lett. 35 (1975) 53

N. Mårtensson and A. Nilsson, J. Electron Spectrosc. Rel. Phen. 52 (1990) 1

Lifetimes of core-excited states and lifetime broadening

J. L. Campbell and T. Papp, Atom. Data Nucl. Data 77 (2001) 1

M. Coville and T. D. Thomas, Phys. Rev. A 43 (1991) 6053

Core-hole screening

G. Kaindl et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 45 (1980) 1808 

T.-C. Chiang, G. Kaindl and T. Mandel, Phys. Rev. B 33 (1986) 695

K. Jacobi et al., Phys. Rev. B 38 (1988) 6291

A. J. Maxwell et al., Chem. Phys. Lett. 260 (1996) 71

J. Schnadt et al., Surf. Sci. 544 (2003) 74

Electron inelastic mean free path, attenuation length and escape depth

A. Jablonski and C. J. Powell, J. Electron Spectrosc. Rel. Phen. 100 (1999) 137

Calibration of electron energy analysers

R. T. Poole et al., J. Phys. E: Sci. Instrum. 6 (1970) 201

Advanced analysis of XA spectra

J. Schnadt et al., Surf. Sci. 540 (2003) 39

N. Johansson et al., J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 29 (2017) 444005

Relationship of XPS and XAS

A. Nilsson et al., Chem. Phys. Lett. 197 (1992) 12

A. Nilsson et al., Surf. Sci. 293 (1993) L835

J. Schnadt et al., Phys. Rev. B 67 (2003) 235420

Resonant photoemission spectroscopy

P. A. Brühwiler, O. Karis and N. Mårtensson, Rev. Mod. Phys. 74 (2002) 703

J. Schnadt et al., Nature 418 (2002) 620

Core-level splitting into bonding and antibonding states and vibrational structure

S. L. Sörensen et al., J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 41 (2008) 095101

Surface core-level shifts

P. H. Citrin, G. K. Wertheim and Y. Baer, Phys. Rev. B 27 (1983) 3160

J. N. Andersen et al., Phys. Rev. B 50 (1994) 17525  (which includes also one definition of initial and final state effects in photoemission)

J. N. O'Shea et al., Surf. Sci. 486 (2001) 157

Vibronic coupling in resonant spectra

L. Kjeldgaard et al., Phys. Rev. B 72 (2005) 205414

J. N. O'Shea et al., J. Chem. Phys. 148 (2018) 204705

Shake-up satellites in XP spectra

R. Manne and T. Åberg, Chem. Phys. Lett. 7 (1970) 282

H. Tillborg, A. Nilsson and N. Mårtensson, J. Electron Spectrosc. Rel. Phen. 62 (1993) 73

Shake-up satellites in XA spectra

B. Kempgens et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 79 (1997) 35

Core excitons vs valence excitons

J. Schnadt, J. Schiessling and P. A. Brühwiler, Chem. Phys. 312 (2005) 39

Multiplet splittings in the XP and XA spectra of open-shell compounds

F. Sirotti and G. Rossi, Phys. Rev. B 49 (1994) 15682

G. Rossi et al., Phys. Rev. B 55 (1997) 11488

F. de Groot, Coord. Chem. Rev. 249 (2005) 31

C. Isvoranu et al., J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 22 (2010) 472002

P. S. Miedema and F. M. F. de Groot, J. Electron Spectrosc. Rel. Phen. 187 (2013) 32

Calculation of binding energy shifts

E. Pehlke and M. Scheffler, Phys. Rev. Lett. 71 (1993) 2338

Quantum dot states in ARPES

D.-A. Luh et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 100 (2008) 027603

Ambient pressure x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy

D. F. Ogletree et al., Rev. Sci. Instrum.  73 (2002) 3872

A. Knop-Gericke et al., Adv. Catal. 52 (2009) 213

D. E. Starr et al., Chem. Soc. Rev. 42 (2013) 5833

J. Knudsen, J. N. Andersen and J. Schnadt, Surf. Sci.. 646 (2016) 160

J. Schnadt, J. Knudsen, N. Johansson, J. Phys.: Condens. Matter (2020)

Beamline instrumentation

H. Petersen, Optics Commun. 40 (1982) 402

H. Petersen, Nucl. Instrum. Meth. Phys. Res. A 246 (1986) 260

R. Follath, Nucl. Instrum. Meth. Phys. Res. A 467-468 (2001) 418

Beamline papers

SPECIES beamline @ MAX IV:

J. Schnadt et al., J. Synchrotron Rad. 19 (2012) 701

S. Urpelainen et al., J. Synchrotron Rad. 24 (2017) 344


Clusters and nanoparticles

Bimetallic nanoparticles: surface segregation in ambient pressure

F. Tao et al., Science 322 (2008) 932

Nanoparticles size effects in XPS binding energies

G. K. Wertheim, S. B. Dicenzo and S. E. Youngquist, Phys. Rev. Lett. 51 (1983) 2310


Atomic layer deposition and chemical vapour deposition

Review articles

V. Miikkulainen et al., J. Appl. Phys. 113 (2013) 021301

R. W. Johnson, A. Hultqvist and S. F. Bent, Materials Today 17 (2014) 236

ALD/CVD and operando electron spectroscopy

A. R. Head et al., J. Phys. Chem. C 120 (2016) 243

S. Chaudhary et al., J. Phys. Chem. C 119 (2015) 19149

ALD and surface science

F. Zaera, Coord. Chem. Rev. 257 (2013) 3177

ALD with alkylamido-metal complexes

K. Li et al., J. Phys. Chem. C 114 (2010) 14061


How to present

Oral presentations

S. G. Benka, Physics Today 61 (2008) 49

PhD students

As main supervisor:

Giulio D'Acunto

Foqia Rehman


As co-supervisor:

Virginia Boix (main supervisor: Jan Knudsen)

Tamires Gallo (main supervisor: Jan Knudsen)

Felipe Lopes da Silva (main supervisor: Samuli Urpelainen)




Previous PhD students and postdocs

PhD students

As main supervisor:

Christina Isvoranu, PhD defence 9/2010

Evren Ataman, PhD defence 6/2011

Shilpi Chaudhary, PhD defence 6/2015

Olesia Snezhkova, PhD defence 2/2016

Niclas Johansson, PhD defence 11/2017

Payam Shayesteh, PhD defence 3/2019


As co-supervisor:

Tripta Kamra, PhD defence 9/2015

Ekaterina Bolbat, PhD defence 9/2016

Sheetal Sisodiya, PhD defence 6/2017

Maitham Majeed, PhD defence 2/2018


Postdoctoral researchers

Ashley Head, 2012-2015

Benjamin Reinecke, 2014-2015

Karsten Handrup, 2016-2017